The Buffalo Exchange Arts Award Transitions to Support Animal Welfare

Buffalo Exchange is excited to announce the transition of the Arts Award into a new initiative focused on animal welfare. For 25 years, Buffalo Exchange has supported the Southern Arizona Arts Community through monetary grants for emerging artists and supporters of the community. While they will continue to support the arts in a myriad of other ways, starting in 2023, the new Buffalo Fund for the Animals will help a wide variety of Southern Arizona non-profits to support and protect our animal companions.

“We’re incredibly grateful for the chance we’ve had to support 26 incredible artists and community partners over the past few decades,” says Rebecca Block, Buffalo Exchange Vice President. “They’ve all made really meaningful contributions to the local community. Now, we’re excited to turn our focus to another cause that’s important to us: animals. The Buffalo Fund for the Animals will help pets find their forever homes and provide them with humane care.”

Check back for more information about which organizations the Buffalo Fund for the Animals will support.

To learn more, please contact Enedina Miller at

Art is not something that humans do when they have nothing else to do. Art is an essential part of the human condition. It happens everywhere and in all circumstances.

— Spencer Block
Previous Award Recipients

2020 Visual Arts / Luis Rodriguez

2019 Visual Arts / Allison Miller & Performing Arts / Bryan Falcón

2018 Arts Contribution / Dante Celeiro

2017 Performing Arts / Nathanael Gregory Myers
Nominees: Alan Gonzalez, Logan Phillips, Milta Ortiza and Teodoro Eldridge

2016 Visual Arts / Rachael Rios
Nominees: Alejandro Castelar, Alex Jimenez, Lester Aguirre, Tanya Rich and Zoya Reyna

2015 Arts Contribution / Rick Wamer

2014 Performing Arts / Chris Black
Nominees: Geneva Foster Gluck, Katie Haverly, Morgan McKenna, Sergio Mendoza

2013 Visual Arts / Brenna Curry
Nominees: Dirk Arnold, Alexis Chiquete, Brooke Grucella, Josh Schachter

2012 Arts Contribution / Stephen Romaniello

2011 Performing Arts / Ashley Shea Bowman
Nominees:  Jose Luis Baca, Kaia Chesney, Christopher Johnson, Joe Pagac

2010 Visual Arts / Heather Green
Nominees: Kim Largey, Ruben Urrea Moreno, Lisa M. Robinson, Johnathan VanBallenberghe

2009 Arts Contribution / Andrew W. Rush

2008 Performing Arts / Brendan Guy Murphy
Nominees: Simon Donovan, Kimi Eisele, Elizabeth Kruse-Craig, Mark McLemor

2007 Visual Arts / Martin Quintanilla
Nominees: Jill Renee Smith, Matt Cotton, Rosanna Solania, S.J. Gibson

2006 Arts Contribution / Giulio Scalinger

2005 Performing Arts / Beth Braun
Nominees: Faitha Lowe-Bailey, Mary Ann Brehmn

2004 Visual Arts / Gwyneth Scally
Nominees: David Aguirre, Francisco Rodriguez-Maruca

2003 Arts Contribution / Paul Fisher

2002 Performing Arts / Samantha Wyer
Nominees: Leigh Ann Rangel & Tammy Rosen, Michael Walk

2001 Visual Arts / Cristina Cardena
Nominees: Joshua Goldberg, Catherine Nash

2000 Arts Contribution / Carroll Rinehart

1999 Performing Arts / Albert Tucci
Nominees: Melissa Lowe, Korby Myrick

1998 Visual Arts / Daniel Martin Diaz
Nominees: David Brown, Michael Cajero, Margaret Lauderback, David Tineo, Carlos Valenzuela

1997 Arts Contribution / James Griffith

 Performing Arts / Carol McLaughlin
Nominees: Chieko Imada, David Rife, Barbea Williams

1994 Visual Arts / Todd Walker
Nominees: Joshua Goldberg, Barbara Grygutis, Suzanne Knosp, Kevin Osborn

Click Here To Support This Award