Diane Lynn Anderson Memorial Award


Recognizing individuals or organizations that work with people with disabilities in Southern Arizona

This award was established in memory of Diane to recognize those who exemplify the same qualities she possessed: active acceptance, respect, compassion, devotion, and caring for people with disabilities. Nominees may also include volunteers, organizations or programs that have established advocacy services and/or increased community resources for people with disabilities.

Prior to her death in 1990, Diane Lynn Anderson was a major force in implementing programs for people with disabilities in Pima County. The Diane Lynn Anderson Memorial Award was established by an anonymous donor in memory of Diane and to recognize those who through their work show the same kinds of qualities Diane possessed: compassion, devotion, and caring for people with disabilities.

Recipient(s) will be announced in February and honored at the annual luncheon of the Arizona Chapter, Branch 2 of the National Association of Social Workers in April 2019. A plaque and cash award will be presented at the luncheon.

Nominations are submitted through the Common Grant Application. A profile must be created in order to submit a nomination. If you have previously used the Common Grant Application to submit a grant request to CFSA, you may use your existing login. Click here for a brief tutorial on using the Common Grant Application.

Individuals may contribute to this award. If you would like to support, you can donate now.


Contact Enedina Miller, Program Manager, with any questions at emiller@cfsaz.org or (520)770-0800 Ext. 7111.


Previous Award Recipients

2018  Steve King, Beacon Group; Marshall Herron, Jewish Family and Children’s Services

2017  Mindy Bernstein, Coyote TaskForce; Steve Freeman, Southern Arizona Network for Down Syndrome

2016  Mary Vardi, Therapeutic Riding of Tucson; Taglit Day Program at the Jewish Community Center; Angeline Fahey, Beads of Courage

2015  Jamie Lakin Kelley,  Integrative Touch for Kids

2014 Criminal Justice Team, Community Partnership of Southern Arizona; The Aurora Foundation for Southern Arizona, Inc.

2013 Kathy Gray-Mangerson; Sister Jeanne Carrigan

2012 Derry Dean, National Alliance on Mental Illness Southern Arizona; Disability and Rehabilitation Employment Awareness Committee

2011 Murry Everson, Arizona School for the Deaf and Blind

2010 Jenny Hill, Angel’s Purse; Alicia Morada, Southern Arizona Legal Aid; Richard St. Denis, World Access

2009 Jean Balcezak, Tucson Arthritis Support League

2008 Maureen Priestly, Amphitheater School District

2006 Jamie Zink, Our Family Services; The Giving Tree Outreach Program

2005 Roni Spehn, Blake Foundation; Polio Epic

2004 Karen Gialle and Jennifer Quinlan, Southern Arizona Veteran’s Association Healthcare; Jewish Family & Children’s Services of Southern Arizona

2003 Eric Morrison, Pima Community College; Dr. Juliet Niehaus, Tucson Botanical Gardens; Top Dog

1998 Marcia Berger, Third Street Kids; Catalina Helping Hands

1997 Sherry Isaman, Sunnyside School District; Patricia Ann Childs, Multiple Sclerosis Support Foundation; SAGE Employment & Community Services

1995 Dr. Kent Kloepping, CEDR/University of Arizona; Tucson Association of the Blind Goals Program

1994 Dolores Flores, Pascua Yaqui Tribe of Arizona; Michael Flores, United Cerebral Palsy

1993 Ray Stoughton, Arivaca Coordinating Council; Anne Parrish, Amputee Outreach

1992 Alamo Reeves, Handidogs; Project RAISE Adult Basic Education

1991 Ron Olson, Catholic Social Services

Contact Enedina Miller, Program Manager, with any questions at emiller@cfsaz.org or (520)770-0800 Ext. 7111.